Manchester United Player

David De Gea Named Manchester United Player of the Year at End of Season Awards

David de Gea won Manchester United’s ‘Sir Matt Busby Manchester United Player of the Year’ award on Tuesday evening for a record fourth time in the space of five seasons, after earning the honour three years in a row between 2014 and 2016.

The goalkeeper, now considered to be the best in the world, was part of a three-horse race for the iconic trophy alongside key duo Jesse Lingard and RomeluLukaku but ran away with it in the end after receiving 67% of around 107,000 votes from supporters.

De Gea has enjoyed his best season yet at Old Trafford statistics-wise since joining as a shy youngster from Atletico Madrid in 2011, keeping 21 clean sheets already with three league fixtures and an FA Cup Final against Chelsea still on the horizon.

Speaking after being handed the award by last season’s winner Ander Herrera, he said: “It’s difficult to say with words what Manchester United Player means for me. It’s amazing to play for this club, with the history, for the fans, for everything. It’s amazing to be part of this club.

Jonny Evans

He continued: “It was a bit hard at the beginning, but I believed in myself and I worked and trained hard and, until now, I am proud of myself. Of course, I want to thank everyone. I didn’t expect to win but now I have won it four times so it’s amazing for me. Thank you.”

The Spaniard’s eye-catching form in between the sticks this season has also earnt him a place in the PFA Team of the Season for the fifth time and a nomination for the PFA Players’ Manchester United Player of the Year award

Speaking of the Players’ Player of the Year award, De Gea also scooped that prize on Tuesday evening, once again stating how widely acknowledged his remarkable efforts are amongst his team-mates.

He broke another club record in doing so, as he is now the only player to win it three times after triumphs in 2014 and 2015, and it was revealed in an emotional video from ZlatanIbrahimović at the start of the night that he got the Swede’s vote as well.

Ibrahimović, who left Manchester United Player for LA Galaxy in March, revealed: “Even if a goalkeeper shouldn’t win Manchester United Player of the Year, but he has had a fantastic year, he continues that high level of performance.”

Jonny Evans

José Mourinho has already confirmed that de Gea will be staying in Manchester for next season, so Manchester United supporters will be praying that’s the case after another stunning year from their no. 1.

Other winners on the night included dominant midfielder NemanjaMatić, who won the Goal of the Year award for his match-winning thunder strike as United came back from 2-0 down at Crystal Palace to win 3-2 in March.

Also, Scott McTominay was awarded the first-ever Manager’s Manchester United Player of the Year trophy by José Mourinho, who wasn’t a fan at how his award was designed but insisted that “the meaning is important” after McTominay’s rise into the first team this term.

Author Bio:

The content is written by Ruby, she is an online marketer and loves football sports. If you wish to see live football matches then go to website and buy football tickets.

Leave a Reply